EventsHotel NewsNewsNews In Brief

Six of the best for Marriott

Major trophy windfall at QHA Awards for Excellence

Marriott International’s portfolio of signature Queensland properties, including W Brisbane, JW Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, The Westin Brisbane and the Sheraton Grand Mirage Port Douglas have taken out top honours across six categories at the prestigious QHA Awards for Excellence.

Taking place at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre (BCEC), the Marriott properties were recognised as winners in key categories including the Best Deluxe Accommodation, Best Overall Hotel, Best Meetings & Events Venue and additionally, an important talent award for Hotel Rising Star.

The JW Marriott Resort and Spa Gold Coast won three awards including Overall Hotel of the Year, Best Marketed Hotel and Best Redeveloped Hotel while Paul Smart was a finalist in the Chef of the Year category.

W Brisbane’s Kimberley Baker was honoured to take out the Hotel Rising Star category. As the hotel’s event manager, Kimberley is responsible for curating and delivering a range of immersive and experiential events across the property that reflect the vibrant energy of the W brand.

W Brisbane was also a finalist in three further categories including Best Deluxe Accommodation, Best Hotel Bar and Jan Ng was shortlisted as Chef of the Year.

The Westin Brisbane was awarded the Best Deluxe Accommodation in the state and Sheraton Grand Mirage Port Douglas took out the Best Meeting and Events Venue and was also a finalist in Best Deluxe Hotel – Accommodation.

Congratulating all nominees and winners across the company’s Queensland properties, Marriott International Area Vice President Australia, New Zealand and Pacific, Sean Hunt said the QHA awards are testament to cementing Marriott’s reputation as a leader in the travel and hospitality space.

The QHA Awards for Excellence are recognised as the most prestigious awards in the hospitality industry throughout Queensland, honouring the achievement of excellence in hospitality in a wide range of categories. The on-going commitment to excellence ensures the state’s hotels are some of the best in Australia.

The winners will automatically be entered into the National Australian Hotel Association (AHA) Awards that will take place late 2022 or early 2023.

Related Articles

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button
WP Tumblr Auto Publish Powered By :
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x