New Zealand

Revealed: The finalists of the New Zealand Tourism Awards

Congratulations to all the finalists, winners will be announced in person at an Awards gala dinner on November 7 in Te Whanganui-a-Tara Wellington following Tourism Summit Aotearoa 

The New Zealand Tourism Awards 2023 finalists have been announced!  

The awards presented by Tourism Industry Aotearoa (TIA), showcase and celebrate the very best of New Zealand tourism’s individual and business successes.

Congratulations to all the finalists, winners will be announced in person at an Awards gala dinner on November 7 in Te Whanganui-a-Tara Wellington, following Tourism Summit Aotearoa. 

This year’s judges said that overall, the entries painted a very compelling picture of the resilience of the tourism industry. Some categories were closely fought and there were mentions made of “impressive reinventions” as well as careful thought given to the evidence supplied.

Judges were particularly taken with tourism operators establishing their social license.

“What I particularly liked was how they translated the shift they’ve made in their markets to sharing the benefits with the local community,” a judge said of one entrant.

TIA Chief Executive Rebecca Ingram says the industry was moving from strength to strength.  

“The finalists are a showcase of grit, ambition, and positive contribution. Their achievements are testament to the quality of tourism leaders across the industry and their ability to innovate.”   

Three of the awards will acknowledge outstanding performers in the industry, and ten awards recognise business excellence, industry alignment, and values that are in line with the Tourism Sustainability Commitment.  

The finalists are… 

Tourism Industry New Zealand Trust Community Engagement Award 2023 

Tourism Talent Employer of Choice Award 2023 

KiwiRail Tourism Environment Award 2023 

  Tourism New Zealand Industry Collaboration and Alignment Award 2023 

Otago Bike Trails Photo by Katelyn Greer on Unsplash

Toroa ā-uta, Toroa ā-tai Māori Tourism Award 2023 

Sponsored by New Zealand Māori Tourism

Westpac Resilience and Innovation Award 2023 

NZME Visitor Experience Award 2023 

Airbnb Tourism Excellence Award (Small-Medium Business) 2023 

BDO Tourism Excellence Award (Large Business) 2023 

The Air New Zealand Supreme Tourism Award will be selected from these nine business award winners and will be presented at the Gala Dinner. 


  Emerging Tourism Leader Award 2023 

 Marsh Tourism Industry Champion Award 2023 

 The Sir Jack Newman Award for Outstanding Industry Leader will also be presented at the Gala Dinner.

There were 123 entries and the range of entries all showed a high level of adaptability and creativity.

The Awards Partner is Air New Zealand and awards sponsors include Airbnb, BDO, KiwiRail Tourism, Marsh, New Zealand Māori Tourism, Tourism Industry New Zealand Trust, Tourism New Zealand, Tourism Talent, NZME and Westpac.  


Related Articles

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button
WP Tumblr Auto Publish Powered By :
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x