EventsIndustryNews In Brief

Top tourism hotels honoured

The Park Hyatt Sydney and Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley have won the top honours at the Tourism Accommodation Australia (NSW) Awards for Excellence for the second consecutive year.

The best hotels in the state’s multi-billion dollar tourism sector were recognised last night at a special ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Sydney, before a crowd of almost 700 political, industry and business leaders including NSW Minister for Tourism and Major Events Adam Marshall.

This year more than 300 nominations were received from a record 80 hotels across 34 categories.

The Park Hyatt Sydney won Metropolitan Deluxe Hotel of the Year for the second year running – The Langham, Sydney was highly commended.

Regional Deluxe Hotel of the Year was also won for the second consecutive year by Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley, which also was inducted into the TAA NSW Hall of Fame for Best Environmental Practices.

Metropolitan Superior Hotel of the Year was won jointly by Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour and PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney while Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains won Regional Superior Hotel of the Year.

Atura Blacktown and Holiday Inn Express Sydney Macquarie Park were joint winners of the MidRange Hotel of the Year Award (the second year running for Atura Blacktown).

The award for best Redeveloped/Refurbished Hotel of the Year went to Primus Hotel, Sydney and the Apartment/Suite Hotel of the Year was won by Fraser Suites Sydney, with QT Bondi highly commended.

Bar of the Year (Mid-Range-Superior) was won by Roadhouse Bar & Grill, Atura Albury and Bar of the Year (Deluxe) went to Stillery, Intercontinental Sydney Double Bay (Grain Bar, Four Seasons was highly commended).

NSW Minister for Tourism and Major Events Adam Marshall offered his congratulations on the high quality of both nominees and winners.

“NSW continues to lead the nation in visitors, visitor nights and visitor expenditure in both the international and domestic market and the quality of our tourism products and experiences such as these are a huge contributor to our State’s success,” Mr Marshall said.

“I would also like to congratulate TAA NSW for officially acknowledging the vital role accommodation hotels and their staff play in attracting visitors to our great state of NSW.”

TAA NSW chair Peter Tudehope said the 2017 TAA NSW Awards for Excellence winners exemplified the best in the tourism industry.

“NSW really does set the standard when it comes to the quality of our accommodation venues and their hard-working staff,” he said.

“Each year at the Awards for Excellence we honour the best in the business for their tireless efforts throughout the year in providing a great experience for visitors to this state. “I congratulate all winners on a job well done.”


AccomNews is not affiliated with any government agency, body or political party. We are an independently owned, family-operated magazine.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button